It’s me again


Hi kid,

it’s me, your future mom again.

So what does future mom have in store for you today?

By now you should be old enough to realize that your mom is a virgo and very very big on functionality of things.

We likely will not have many things in our house that isn’t functional.

But today I want to tell you something important, something about art.

There is nothing functional about art, but it’s incredibly important.

Not all things in life need to be functional.

There’s honestly nothing functional about stories, or games..or entertainment in general.

If we tried to argue about it, you could find purpose for these things, but do note, purpose do not equate to function. While story books are useful in squashing bugs, stories themselves do not have high functionality. A painting or a sculpture, they all don’t have much functionality beyond that of aesthetics or romanticism or symbolism. Heck, tears don’t really have that much functionality.

But I think you’d agree that we can’t live without them. We need to cry, we need to have fun, sometimes, we just need to NOT be productive or functional in life. We just need completely useless shit in life.

It’s all about balance.

So I hope, despite my own struggles with fine art, that you’d grow up as a person with appreciation for non-functional stuff.

As always, I love you, little human who popped out of my vagina.

It’s me again

Leave a comment