What they don’t tell you about anxiety


They tell you you’ll be anxious, that you’ll be sensitive.

They don’t tell you that the adrenaline from excitement following a good day will make you anxious the next day.

They don’t tell you that any strong emotions can turn you into an illogical jumpy mess.

That you know you’re having a good day and everything’s fine,  but your body decides to be in fight or flight mode anyway because whatever regulators regulating your brain is dysfunctional.

But I won’t let today be a bad day, just because my body’s biology decides to be a bit wonky, my happiness is decided as much by my brain as it is my heart and mind.

I’ll deal with the jumpiness, wariness that stems from absolutely nowhere, and try to find comfort in the routine and a nice cup of tea.

And remind myself, because I know how it feels to feel like your hands and feel are dangling in mid-air even when they’re clenched and grasping, I appreciate peace like no other.

What they don’t tell you about anxiety

Leave a Reply

