It’s about what you can and not what you are


Since young, I’ve been told many times by my parents, mostly my dad, about how:

  • cowardly
  • Careless
  • incapable of handling stress
  • unadaptable

I am.

But life has proven to me that, yes perhaps I AM all the above things, but when put in those situations, I am capable of surviving and overcoming.

So I AM cowardly but I CAN be brave.

I’m careless but I CAN be careful.

I’m easily stressed but I CAN handle stress.

I’m unadaptable but I CAN adapt.

Sometimes we get caught up in thinking about what we are and not what we CAN.

Humans are not naturally swimming creatures but we CAN swim.

And I think at the end of the day, it’s not whether or not you were naturally born to be some way but whether or not you CAN behave in a certain way when situation calls for it, even if it’s against your nature.

You don’t have to be a liar so long as you can lie if situation calls for it.

You don’t necessarily have to be good at it, heck getting good at something is more practice than gift.

So that’s my tidbit of wisdom for the day.

Chomon out.

It’s about what you can and not what you are

Leave a Reply

