Re-learning art again


I was watching one of Disney’s old cartoons, you know the ones with whimsical art and classical music?

And it hit me that art isn’t really THAT hard to understand, or at least, not as much as I’ve made it out to be in my head.

Watching the cartoon, I can see how that with enough patience and dedication, I too am capable of making art.

Which made me think, when did I start finding art so difficult?

I consider myself as someone with pretty decent (read: awesome) self-awareness. Hence I am well aware that there are some things my brain is hardwired to resist against, such as math, programming and recently, art.

When I see the above mentioned things, my eyes gloss over, my brain switches off and I immediately find then difficult and impossible to grasp. But alas, my wonderful self-awareness KNOWS that it’s not because those subjects really are that hard, my brain is just resisting.

Funny thing is, when I was much younger, there weren’t these resistances. Of course there were things I found difficult, but when I did find them, I just sat down and worked through it. So what happened?

You know how people say that the brain is a muscle?

Somewhere along the line, society and education have trained the muscles of my brain to find certain exercises easy and others hard. But when I was a kid my muscles were flexible, pliable. They didn’t try to think how uncomfortable certain exercises would make it, they just went ahead and did it.

Except now I’m older, my muscles, both physical and mental, are a little stiffer, they’ve got bad habits and imbalances now

But it doesn’t change the fact that with enough practice and stretching, they’ll be able to contort into new positions.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that we need to stop throwing up walls and instead let our brains feel the burn of these mental stretches when it comes to subjects and issues that we are ‘bad’ at. We’re not bad at it, we just haven’t done enough of it.

So I’m just going to ahead and re-learn art and maybe math while I’m at it, I can feel my brain resisting it already, but I do yoga 3 times week, what’s a bit more pain?

Re-learning art again

Leave a Reply

