Hey, it’s me, your future mom again


Hey my future kid, it’s me, your mom again.

So you’re probably wondering why I’m writing this letter (provided that I somehow managed to dig this out from my blog years from now and letting you read it; PS it’s currently 7th May 2015. Yea I think ahead).

Well you have Mr Ken Robinson for that. (Google him please)

If all goes according to plan, you should be a pretty quirky kid because you have a quirky mom who believes in a somewhat liberal parenting method (please tell me I do, if I don’t, show this to myself so that past me can tell future me how horribly disappointed she is in this exceptionally un-unicornish/wise cactusish behavior).

Where was I going with this? Oh right, your education.

So Mr Ken Robinson was going on about how schools are only encouraged to find out about what children can do across a very narrow spectrum…and I immediately thought of how, as a parent, I’ll make sure to not put you through that, because god knows what you’d be good at.

Hopefully, the schools 20 years in the future are a bit more liberal about subjects and areas of expertise than they are now. Somehow, I doubt it, but hey all this TED talk should be influencing SOMETHING right? Nevertheless, in which case the education is still stupid as hell, chances are I had you homeschooled or put through some pretty unique education, one that would greatly please my INFJ-ness and probably gave you a really weird childhood that made it incredibly hard to relate to other kids. It’s okay, you’ll thank me one day. (What, did you really think I was going to apologize for being awesome?)

Anyways, I want you to know that everyone’s good at something. Granted, there’s always going to be someone better at your something than you are, but that’s how the world works, but no one is exactly like you, you’re special (whether that’s a good special or a bad special….that’s a toss-up).

I hope that as your parent, I remembered to look at you for who you are and unearthed the things you are good at and helped you hone them. Hopefully you like doing what you’re good at, because your mom is very good at paperwork and she does not like it. I chose to do something I love rather than what I’m good at, I’m sure I managed to work my strengths into whatever I chose to do, but yea, hone your skills but follow your passion. (Yes, roll your eyes because I probably gave you this follow your passion speech a gazillion times knowing me…)

You know, mom had many friends who were brilliant at things that weren’t part of the education system? To be fair that can’t turn EVERYTHING into a subject, they can try but some obscure thing will always elude them. I mean, ‘randomness’ is sort of a hard subject to teach, so is ‘dramatic flair’ and I guess other more normal stuff like human observation, bartending, cooking, sewing etc. (Yes, I know home ec is a subject, but it’s not a subject subject).

Basically what I’m getting at is that lots of people are good at stuff outside of academics, and the world needs all sorts of people. I like to watch Man at Arms:REFORGED and be amazed by blacksmith. They sure as hell don’t teach that in school. Who knows, maybe you will be talented in blacksmithing…but you also may never find out if you’ve never been exposed to it.

I hope (and this part is really more for me than you) that I have exposed you to as many things as humanly possible so that you’d have had the chance to find your strengths and talents and hone them to help you achieve your dream in life.

This however is not a free pass for you to not try and learn more things or work hard on things you’re bad at, there’s no such thing as useless skills or knowledge. You don’t have to be good at everything but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t know about as many things as possible.

There’s nothing worse than ignorance, not only because it makes you a bigoted idiot but because in hinders your ability to enjoy life.

The world is a big place. It’s filled with so many different things, some good, some bad. As far as I know, you only live once, you only get one chance to explore this world. Ignorance makes exploring this world hard. It may feel safe sometimes, but dammit you came to this world to experience life, and that’s what you’re going to do even if you fall down and see some bad things along the way. Trust me, they’ll help you appreciate the good more. I know you’re strong enough to do that. I gave birth to you.

And I guess I’ll be signing off here.

Stay awesome.

Love
Mum.

Hey, it’s me, your future mom again

Leave a Reply

