Cool Japan Day 4


What is Day 4 all about!?

…I don’t really remember myself.

It’s been a really really long day, and it’s not over yet because I still have some work to do after this.

But to conclude, today is a mixed bag day.

I felt sick as hell yesterday and my period came today, so obviously I’m not in the best condition.

I dragged myself out of bed at 8.30, skipped my shower and ate a delicious souffle bread/cake thing for breakfast instead of eating at my hotel because I was going to be late.

The first lecture was pretty interesting, I just wished (as usual) that we had time for discussion.

The second lecture was terrible, the lady had really bad English and though she really tried….well everyone was confused and I really fell asleep.

For lunch I had a decent bento…rice in Japan is always good so there is nothing to complain about.

After lunch we actually had a pretty engaging presentation by an Otaku professor, which was cool.

He then took us to Akihabara…and I kept freaking out because I’m scared that my bag will break soon.

Trip to Akiba….well if it wasn’t raining and I wasn’t feeling so ill, it might have been better…

As an educational trip, I think it was cool because we got to see the REAL Otaku places, he skipped all the mainstream places (such as Mandarake and Tora no Ana) AND all the game stores.

We just looked at building after building of figurine stores.

I did however get souvenir shopping done.

After the tour, most of the guys decided to go meet up with some Meiji University Students to experience what Japanese University students do for fun.

Seeing as I have a bunch of Japanese friends who are in university…it’s safe to say that I’ve been there and done that.

So instead, despite my aching shoulders and headache, I went to the Sky Tree.

I guess I’m just determined not to waste my trip…that and if I planned something, I sure as hell will execute it.

So on I went to the Sky Tree.

It was great, it was amazing.

IT SUCKS THAT I WAS TIRED AND HAD LITTLE TIME.

Really, it had a HUGE mall attached to it, the observatory tower was of course, TALL as hell AND it had an aquarium that I obviously had no time for.

Solamachi, aka the mall attached to Sky Tree is AWESOME.

It has so many cool and funky shops AND restaurants…I hardly had time and energy to enter all of time, I walked by most seeing as my main goal was to get to the sky tree.

BUT I did drop by Loft, which is a…miscellenous stuff shop.

I got a Porter bag, a tad pricey but SO SO SO GOOD, It’s SOFT and it can be carried three ways. Did I mention it’s water proof? YEA.

And of course I finally managed to get my mom reading glasses and I also got my precious baby some cool polar bear products. Japan, they have everything.

Then…renewed by my new bag, I made my way to the sky tree.

I have to say, I’m not normally impressed by observatory towers, this one is really quite cool.

I guess it’s the service and also their themed lifts.

They have 4 lifts which have different interior design inspired by 4 seasons, nothing spectacular, but it’s the thought that counts.

As usual, we have a super high view of whole of Tokyo city and it wasn’t a clear view because today is a cloudy day.

Why I say I found the place quite good was cause, aside from the reflection of light from behind and above, their glass panels are SO CLEAN, every shot looks like it came out shot without glass between in.

Of course, I also appreciate how the Sky Tree has an aquarium and an awesome mall attached to it, so you don’t just go all the way there to look down at city lights.

Then, obviously, I dragged my sorry and tired ass back to my hotel and is here, now, blogging this to you.

On a side note, as I left the sky tree, another bout of depression crept up onto me.

I wish my boyfriend was here, we would have totally enjoyed exploring the aquarium.

I wish my mom was here, shopping inside Solamachi would have been so fun.

I wish my best friend was here, we would have had fun looking at EVERYTHING…and gone to the KTV.

It’s just so sad…there are so many awesome things in Japan still to look at but I’m stuck in the lecture room for 3/4 of the day and by the time I have time to myself, it’s too late to really go anywhere and I’m just too tired.

The program is’t really bad, it’s just sort of a waste of your time when you’ve been to all these places.

That and it genuinely is academic….I just wanna be a tourist and ENJOY.

Ah well, got some work to finish up.

Meanwhile, enjoy my photos.

10 MORE DAYS! I CAN DO THIS!IMAG0339 IMAG0340 IMAG0341 IMAG0342 IMAG0352 IMAG0353 IMAG0354 IMAG0355 IMG_6662 IMG_6667 IMG_6669 IMG_6673 IMG_6675 IMG_6676 IMG_6677 IMG_6678 IMG_6679 IMG_6680 IMG_6681 IMG_6682 IMG_6684 IMG_6685 IMG_6687 IMG_6696 IMG_6697 IMG_6698 IMG_6699 IMG_6701 IMG_6704 IMG_6708 IMG_6710 IMG_6712 IMG_6718 IMG_6723 IMG_6724 IMG_6725 IMG_6727 IMG_6728 IMG_6729 IMG_6730 IMG_6732 IMG_6733 IMG_6735

Cool Japan Day 4

Leave a Reply

