Fat Cow


2012-12-25 20.33.10

I find it rather strange that most Singaporeans celebrate christmas on the 24th and on the 25th, the actual christmas day, they just kinda stop celebrating….

Yes well not me.

So for the 25th, CHRISTMAS DAY, my mom and I decided to have a nice Christmas dinner out and we went to…dun dun dun, FAT COW!

Now I have no idea why Fat Cow is located at a medical building (Camden Medical Centre), but hey it works so lets leave it be.

So to begin, the above picture is the menu of their X’mas special, which is what my mom had, but not what I had, which means I WON’T be reviewing their X’mas special.

Nope, I am here today to talk about their Ala Carte menu and about what Fat Cow is known for…..fat cows…aka BEEF!

Buuut before that I should start with my appetizer, which is this baby:

2012-12-25 19.50.41

This is the best salad I’ve ever had in my life, and mind you, I don’t even like salad, so the fact that I love it has got to mean something.

Where should I start fangirling about this salad (yes I’m a FAN of a SALAD, insane isn’t it?)…the greens are fresh in this salad, it acts as a base for everything else that’s on it but the greens are hardly the rockstar of this show. Lets talk about the tomatoes. Wherever Fat Cow is getting their tomatoes, I want in. The are sweet and slightly tart like cherry tomatoes, but given the size, I highly doubt that’s the case. Coupled with a gracious dash of black pepper, it really shows how tomatoes are as much a fruit as they are a vegetable. Then we have the walnuts, alone they are nothing impressive, but in contrast to the sweet and sour tomatoes they really help balance out the flavor of things. It also helps to have some crunch in the dish, and don’t worry these walnuts aren’t bitter at all, so munch away you nutters.

However I must say what really melts me into a little puddle is their mozerella cheese, I’m almost, keyword being almost, certain that their cheese is made in-house. It’s so fresh and soft and juicy that it tastes more like tofu than cheese, it’s also not terribly cheesy, there’s just enough of a light cheesiness to it so you can taste the diary that went into it. But alright, what really makes this salad awesome is their vinaigrette, I regret not reading the menu properly because I have no idea what goes into, but it kicks ass. It’s salty but in a sweet kind of way with a hint of sourness to it but most importantly its rich and deep in flavor. There’s a hint of sesame oil in it and perhaps some citrus, well whatever they have in that thing, I want it bottled and in dozens shipped to my house. This vinaigrette can make ANY salad taste good.

2012-12-25 19.51.08

But of course we cannot forget the all important drinks. I ordered a cocktail called Hanami, which literally translates to flower-viewing. It’s really just a Mojito, made with Japanese citrus, mint leaves, soda and a very very gracious amount of Bacardi. Though you hardly taste the alcohol in it, I assure you they did not skimp on their Bacardi, this drink got me a little lightheaded at the 3rd sip, so don’t be deceived by its prettiness.  It doesn’t win first place for best cocktail or Mojito I’ve ever had but it’s refreshing and goes well with their…

2012-12-25 20.13.04

STEAK!

I mean really, the restaurant is called FAT COW. What else are you expecting besides a delicious slab of beef?

You can call it Japanese beef, Wagyuu beef and use euphemisms like marbling to describe your meat but lets face it, all of that wagyuu hooha is just one thing, FAT COW. So it’s obvious the restaurant knows what it’s doing.

Do not be deceived by the thinness of this steak, it is and will be one of the juiciest, most tender and most delicious steak you will ever have.

Before I go onto gush about how much I adore their steaks, let me just quickly touch on the types of steak you can get at Fat Cow. They’ve got all sorts of beef (they are a steak house after all) and they’re very particular about it. At the top of the food chain are the Japanese Wagyuu beef, available in grade A3 and A5 (don’t ask me what this means), following that is the Australian Beef Grade MS A8+ (once again, I’m just quoting their menu) and finally we have the US Wagyuu beef. What’s the difference between all of them? Their prices obviously.

But what are you paying for exactly? In expert terms, you’re paying for marbling, in layman terms, you’re paying for FATS. Yes people, you heard me, we are paying hundreds of dollars for FAT MEAT of a cow. Ironic considering how we try so hard to eat lean pork.

However you must realize that the fatter your cow is the juicer and richer your steak will be, so it’s not exactly an illogical concept.

This also means that if you ever go to Fat Cow, ordering the most expensive meat in the house will not necessarily give you the best steak. Everyone has different taste buds and preferences, some people LOVE rich and juicy steaks so the Japanese Wagyuu is going to be their thing, but if they just like tender beef with just enough marbling well perhaps they’re better off with the US Beef. You also get one free sauce to go with your steak, they have Miso, Chilli and one other sauce that escapes my memory at the moment. They’re all awesome, so take your pick. But if you want my take, you don’t need the damn sauce, the beef is perfect.

What I had in the picture is their house cut, the FAT COW STEAK, I’m guessing it’s US Beef because it’s the cheapest on their menu and I’ve had their Australian Beef, and it was much juicier (and oilier) than this.

Back to the steak.

My personal favourite is the Australian Beef, that’s the ratio of fat to meat that I love, although the Japanese Wagyuu is also absolutely delicious if you don’t mind all the juice and fat (which for some people gets too rich after a while). However their Fat Cow steak is also phenomenal, like I said the only difference is how much fat you’re getting, but all of Fat Cow’s steaks are guaranteed to melt in your mouth. Literally.

I got my Fat Cow steak at medium, you DO NOT want to go over medium because the steak is quite thin and medium is really like medium well.

2012-12-25 20.13.28

The steak comes served on a warm stone plate, which keeps your beef warm (how sweet of them). Now it may look dry at first glance but the moment you stab your fork and knife into it, the juices start spilling out over the plate and you know for fact that the beef is well marbled. Putting it into your mouth is the most heavenly moment you will experience in this restaurant, the fats just immediately begin to melt in your mouth and as you chew on the tender meat, bouillon (aka meat juices) literally burst out every time you chew and overwhelm you with its richness. It’s such a deep and rich flavor that even though the beef is lightly seasoned, it still tastes so complex and amazing. Then, you go for another bite and it happens all over again. Yes I am in love.

Between bites you will find yourself reaching for your side dish just  to prolong this beautiful experience. My side dish of choice is their rice with wagyuu beef sauce in it. It’s got a slightly sweet taste like the rice of donburi but not sickeningly so, it compliments the steak perfectly and well, you can never go wrong with Japanese rice. Feel free to reach for your complimenting sauce (mine was Miso) if you feel like spicing up your beef worshiping experience.

There really is no way to express in words how good steak at Fat Cow is. You just have to experience it yourself. But I can safely say that Fat Cow has ruined steak for me completely, after you have tasted this steak heaven there is no going back, every other steak you ever try will simply taste like bland chewy meat/rubber.

And sadly eating this steak everyday just isn’t an option. Not only because  of its richness but because dining at Fat Cow requires a lot money. My mom and I rang up a bill of $300++, so as you can guess, it’s definitely a place for special occasions and dates.

Before I forget, I did have dessert as well

2012-12-25 20.31.37

They call it Hokkaido Steamed milk, I call it milk pudding, it’s all the same thing. There is red bean on the side but I choose to ignore it. After the mindblowing experience of the beef, nothing else could move me as much as that did for the day, but their desserts are a sweet note to end on anyway. It’s Hokkaido milk, nuff said. But if I had to elaborate, lets just say that if I grew up in Hokkaido, I’d be a really really fat kid. Their diary product is just unparalled.

And that just about sums up my Fat Cow experience.

What, there’s no criticism?

Well, of course not. I’m not a food critic, who are compelled to find flaw in everything and anything.

I’m just a foodie who feels the need to rave and rant about how amazing food at Fat Cow is.

To conclude, Fat Cow is amazing and amazingly expensive. I’d recommend it for dates and anniversaries and special occasions, where you won’t be concerned about how much you’ll be spending on food. But they make parting with your money really easy with their orgasmic food and almost butler-like service. So, GO TO FAT COW.

Fat Cow

Leave a Reply

